![]() |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
has anyone else heard of this site? this is a really good way to get in contact with some old friends and make some new ones. im not trying to advertise for them just saying that i got on there and found some people that i havent talked to in years that i just fell out of contact with since pcs'ing. its a really good tool. but get this, someone already started hating on it and banned it from military computer access. their reasoning: this site can potentially endanger the security of some peoples info. i dont think so but just check it out for yourselves.
__________________
Military Tuners - Utah Division http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2135667 |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
I have seen this site before, it has been a while since I went onto my account, but I have been there a little bit ago...
__________________
![]() Find out more about: M.T.R - Military Tuners Racing team Hot Links to MT: StreetFire | Youtube ![]() Americans sleep safely in their beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do them harm... |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
I would NOT recommend anyone using this site. Nellis AFB and a few other bases have blocked this site and called this a OPSEC leak. People caught using this at Nellis could lose all of the computer privileges and it is not worth the risk.
__________________
"Always smile, forgive your enemies and ignore the people who talk behind your back. Nothing annoys them more |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Yeah I could see that being an OPSEC issue... and I would have to say way not worth the risk..
__________________
![]() Find out more about: M.T.R - Military Tuners Racing team Hot Links to MT: StreetFire | Youtube ![]() Americans sleep safely in their beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do them harm... |
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
There are already a few Military sites that are promoting and posting about them and that is a very bad thing when the Military is warning us not to go there because it is NOT a secure or trustworthy site.
:shakeshead:
__________________
"Always smile, forgive your enemies and ignore the people who talk behind your back. Nothing annoys them more |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
Yeah that is pretty bad actually.. and I am sure people figure it is somewhat secure so they probably share things that shouldn't be shared online like that... that is why I just don't discuss anything that I think shouldn't be discussed online.... just better to be safe then sorry...
__________________
![]() Find out more about: M.T.R - Military Tuners Racing team Hot Links to MT: StreetFire | Youtube ![]() Americans sleep safely in their beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do them harm... |
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
That is a good rule to follow.
__________________
"Always smile, forgive your enemies and ignore the people who talk behind your back. Nothing annoys them more |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Yeah no if only we could get everyone else to follow it too... then we wouldn't have some of the issues we have...
__________________
![]() Find out more about: M.T.R - Military Tuners Racing team Hot Links to MT: StreetFire | Youtube ![]() Americans sleep safely in their beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do them harm... |
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
Do not put your personal information there!
|
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
This is what was sent out to Nellis AFB Personnel from Comm Squadron:
WARNING--New OPSEC threat - Together We Served website Heads up... Subject: WARNING--New OPSEC threat - Together We Served website SUBJECT: Air Force Together We Served (AFTWS) http://airforce.togetherweserved.com/usaf Stated misnomer in introduction email " AFTWS has no public access and only those who served in the United States Air Force, United States Army Air Force and Air National Guard are eligible to come aboard." This is a website that says it's military only. It has NO DOD affiliation. You can log on with bogus credentials and have full access to the site. It only self polices itself for bogus accounts, and has an advisory board only up to 12 members. Currently it has 47000+ members in only 3 weeks (1000 new members since yesterday). You do the math. 12 board members can't police 47000 members. This is a MySpace/Facebook type of website that targets military members. The server is based in Novia Scotia, parent company is German, all with unknown affiliations (we are currently investigating this). Our folks need to be cautious with all public web forums with regards to the information they post about themselves, their units, and the USAF in general. AFI 35-101 PA policy and guidance states with regards to any Air Force oriented information, to include pictures of yourself in uniform: ".each Air Force member or employee is responsible for obtaining the necessary review and clearance, starting with Public affairs, before releasing and proposed statement, text or imagery to the public. This includes any digital products being loaded on an unrestricted web site" Our folks need to be smart about this website and any others. We are still finding questionable content on Hurlburt personnel personal websites and having sites like AFTWS does not help our mission in protecting our information. Please disseminate this to all your unit members. Recently I've received several e-mails from acquaintances asking me to join AF TWS (Together We Served). I haven't joined b/c these sites aren't my thing but evidently they are for a lot of other people. In 3 weeks over 47k+ AF people have joined including retired members. The Navy and Marines have websites as well with 320k/150k members respectively that have been established for a longer periods of time. Last Friday I spoke with the Major at the 1st SOW that authored the attached briefing to make sure everything was legitimate. He explained several things to me that have occurred since he made the briefing to include speaking with the President of the company that the web site originated from. Long story short this is another site like Myspace and Facebook where people can mingle and exchange information and put themselves in compromising situations revealing sensitive information. Here are some facts about the website: - It's not secure - Has NO DoD affiliation - AFTWS has no way of knowing whose joining or if they're military or not 1. The Maj has a phony profile and no one has found it - Most bases including Nellis have blocked access 1. Doesn't keep individuals from home access FYI The internet is a great way to find people and keep in touch with friends. Just be smart about what you put out there for the world to see. Need to make sure people are educated on the +/- of these websites and that some of the claims the company makes are false.
__________________
"Always smile, forgive your enemies and ignore the people who talk behind your back. Nothing annoys them more |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| New Airforce Katt here. | GM4life | Introductions | 5 | 18th July 2008 12:00 PM |